History of the Miner's Cup, the Annual MTU/NMU Football Game

Since 2002 Northern Michigan University and Michigan Tech University have battled for the Miner’s Cup Trophy, awarded to the annual winner of the historic Upper Peninsula football rivalry.

Michigan Tech won the inaugural Miner’s Cup in 2002 and currently holds an 9-3 record over Northern Michigan. The traveling trophy has stayed at MTU since 2009 when NMU last won it, the longest winning streak for the annual trophy.

Though the Miner’s Cup has only been awarded since 2002, the rivalry dates back 1920. The two teams have met a total of 87 times since. As of Michigan Tech’s 2013 victory, the series is split even, 41-41-5 record.

It’s a classy trophy! The helmet on top is an authentic miner’s helmet that was found at a local antique store in Houghton.

Miner's Cup

Photo source: Mining Journal

Year By Year Results

YearNorthern MichiganMichigan TechLocation
2002Northern Michigan13**Michigan Tech****34**Houghton
2003**Northern Michigan****35**Michigan Tech24Marquette
2004Northern Michigan6**Michigan Tech****45**Houghton
2005Northern Michigan21**Michigan Tech****42**Marquette
2006Northern Michigan14**Michigan Tech****42**Houghton
2007**Northern Michigan****34**Michigan Tech27Marquette
2008Northern Michigan21**Michigan Tech****47**Marquette
2009**Northern Michigan****48**Michigan Tech16Houghton
2010Northern Michigan0**Michigan Tech****12**Houghton
2011Northern Michigan18**Michigan Tech****21**Marquette
2012Northern Michigan17**Michigan Tech****41**Marquette
2013Northern Michigan7**Michigan Tech****31**Houghton
**Current series:**Michigan Tech leads 9-3